Skip to main content

List: President Museveni Promotes Over 500 UPDF Officers

posted onJanuary 18, 2022

President Yoweri Museveni who is also the Commander in Chief of the armed forces has promoted 528 army officers to different ranks.

In the latest promotions, the most senior officers have been elevated from the rank of Leiutenant Colonel to Colonel while the lowest ranked officers were promoted from Captain to Major.

In a press statement released on January 17th, 2022 by the ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs, Uganda People’s Defence Forces, Gen Museveni promoted 3 officers from rank of lieutenant colonel to colonel, 27 from the rank of major to to lieutenant colonel, while the remaining 498 from rank of captain to major.

The notable senior officers who were promoted to new ranks include Colonels; Benard Tumwesigye, Stephen Nsereko and Innocent Kamuratsi. The three have been promoted from the rank of Lt Col.

Others senior officers include Lt Col Chris Magezi, the Director of information at the Land Forces headquarters and the office of the senior presidential adviser for special operations.

Last year, Lt Col Magezi who has been at the rank of Major successfully concluded the Advanced Command and Staff Course, and MA Defence Studies program at the UK’s Joint Services Command and Staff College (JSCSC).


1. Lt col Benard Tumwesigye – colonel

2. Lt Col Mark B. Mugarura – colonel

3. Lt Col Stephen Nsereko – colonel

4. Maj Innocent Micheal Kamuratsi – Lt col

5. Maj Tom Ssenyonjo Mbazira – Lt col

6. Maj David Wakaya Napule – Lt.col

7. Maj Benon Kato – Lt col

8. Maj Edward Kambere Mugisha – Lt Col

9. Maj David William Wambogo – Lt Col

10. Maj Allan Nantetsa Mujurizi – Lt Col

11. Maj Yonah Tumuramye – Lt Col

12. Maj Chris Obala Magezi – Lt. Col

13. Maj Genesis O Okeny – Lt Col

14. Maj Nasur Namara – Lt Col

15. Maj Gonzaga B. Kworekwa – Lt Col

16. Francis Matiri Kagumire – Lt Col

17. Maj Godfrey Mugarura – Lt Col

18. Maj Daniel Atwine Ahimbisibwe – Lt Col

19. Maj Bob Livingstone Bampalana – Lt.Col

20. Maj Juma Japyem Abdullnur – Lt Col

21. Maj John Kibirige Kasule – Lt Col

22. Maj Moses Baraza Musasizi – Lt Col

23. Maj Musa Farouk Mukiibi – Lt Col

24. Maj Johnson Rwabikanja Tukwasibwe – Lt Col

25. Maj Albert Kashakamba – Lt. Col

26. Maj Julius Emmy Kumanya – Lt. Col

27. Maj Simon M Andiandu – Lt. Col

28. Maj Robert Zavuga – Lt. Col

29. Maj Moses Alindu – Lt. Col

30.Maj Vincent Oyuka – Lt. Col

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.