Skip to main content
Caroline Magambo

Uganda’s Caroline Magambo elected to prestigious UN budgetary committee

Caroline Magambo had earlier on been approved by the Africa Union Group Candidature Committee
posted onNovember 7, 2020

The UN General Assembly on Friday elected Caroline Nalwanga Magambo as a member of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ), making her the second African woman and first Ugandan to serve on this influential committee, according to an official statement.

Magambo had earlier on been approved by the Africa Union Group Candidature Committee.

Currently serving a counselor at Uganda’s Permanent Mission to the UN in New York, the diplomat has previously served as chair of the Africa Group in the UN Fifth Committee during the 73rd Session of the UN General Assembly.

She has also served as the head of division at the Europe Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Headquarters.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, working closely with the Permanent Mission in New York -- has been instrumental in securing placements for Ugandans in international and regional organizations.

The  ACABQ is responsible for expert examination of the program budget of the United Nations, reviewing on behalf of the General Assembly, the administrative budgets of the Specialized Agencies, and proposals for financial arrangements with such agencies, among other duties.

The Advisory Committee is elected by the General Assembly for a period of three years, on the basis of a broad geographical representation.

The ACABQ was recently enlarged by a UN resolution from 16 to 21 members, beginning January 2021.

Uganda’s historical appointment to the UN Administrative and Budget Committee comes at a time when the country is highly credited for its Refugee Response framework and support to UN operations in the region by hosting the Regional Service Centre in Entebbe (RSCE).

The ACABQ was proposed by the Preparatory Commission and established by the General Assembly resolution 14 (I) of 13 February 1946.

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.