Skip to main content
Archbishop Stanley Ntagali is set to retire in March 2020

Anglican Bishops to Elect New Archbishop as Ntagali Clocks Retirement Age

Currently, there are 38 Bishops in the House of Bishops and only 33 are eligible to become Archbishop in an election that will be presided over by the Provincial Chancellor on August 28th.
posted onAugust 19, 2019

By Max Patrick Ocaido

Anglican Bishops will next week (28th August, 2019) elect the new Church of Uganda Archbishop following the announcement of the Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali’s retirement in 2020.

By March 2020, Ntagali would have clocked the 65year retirement mark and will not be eligible to serve until the expiry of his 10year tenure.

The Constitution of the Church of Uganda, stipulates that an Archbishop can serve only for ten years and no more and upon clocking the age of 65 an Archbishop must retire, even if he has served less than his ten-year term. Only Bishops in the Church of Uganda who are at least 50years old are eligible for election.

According to a communiqué from the Provincial Office of the Church of Uganda, Namirembe, the new Archbishop who will be the 9th Archbishop of Church of Uganda since 1961 will be elected by the House of Bishops which consists of all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops.

Currently, there are 38 Bishops in the House of Bishops and only 33 are eligible to become Archbishop in an election that will be presided over by the Provincial Chancellor on August 28th. Archbishop Ntagali was elected and enthroned as the 8th Archbishop on 18th December 2012 at the age of 57. He turns 65 years old on 1st March 2020-the mandatory age of retirement. He is currently engaged in a farewell tour, visiting all 37 dioceses in the Church of Uganda to say “good-bye.”

Ntagali’s Profile:

The Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali was elected Archbishop by the House of Bishops of the Church of Uganda on 22nd June 2012 and was enthroned as Archbishop on 16th December 2012 in St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe, Kampala.

Archbishop Ntagali was consecrated Bishop on 19th December 2004 and has served as the Bishop of Masindi-Kitara Diocese for eight years.

Born in Ndorwa County in Kabale District in 1955, he shifted with his family to Wambabya Parish in Kizirifumbi Sub-county in Hoima District when he was 16 years old. On Christmas Eve 1974, at the age of 19, he accepted Jesus Christ as his personal Lord and Saviour and was born again.

He began working as a teacher in Wambabya Primary School, and later spent two years as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese. He did his theological training at Bishop Tucker Theological College, St. Paul’s Theological College, Limuru, Kenya, and the Oxford Centre for Mission Studies in the UK.

After serving as a missionary in Karamoja Diocese, he served the remainder of his priestly ministry in various capacities in Bunyoro-Kitara Diocese until 2002, when he was appointed Provincial Secretary. Prior to serving as Archbishop, Ntagali represented the Archbishop in international meetings, served as the Chair of the Church House Board, and led the committee that designed guidelines for retiring Bishops. Archbishop Ntagali is married to Beatrice Ntagali and they have five children.

Previous Archbishops:

  • 1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)
  • 2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)
  • 3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.
  • 4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.
  • 5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)
  • 6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)
  • 7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 - 2012)
  • 8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020)

About Author

Kp Reporter - Chief editor

Join the conversation

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.